The Department of Natural Sciences is one of three Departments in the School of Natural and Social Sciences of the State University of Zanzibar (SUZA). The Department launched its programmes of study from academic year 2004/05. The Basic approach of the Department is to undertake programmes, which will lead to the degree of Bachelor of Science with Education (BSc. Ed) and Bachelor of Environmental Health.

The subjects of the natural sciences in undergraduate programmes offered by the Department are Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. Since the University adopted the double major system. The science students can choose from the five subject combinations currently available, including Biology – Chemistry, Biology – Geography, Mathematics – Chemistry, Physics – Chemistry, and Physics – Mathematics. Any subject combinations other than the specified ones need prior clarification in order to avoid later inconvenience to the students and the University at large. The courses in natural sciences offered by the Department confer opportunities for science students to take a mixture of lectures and practical classes as well as field visits where students explore different biological, ecological and geographical features of different localities of the islands. Combination selected is complemented with education courses and a set of common courses offered by other departments of the school.

All students shall take a number of core courses which provide the foundation knowledge needed and choose among elective courses provided as optional for all science courses offered by the Department.

From academic year 2013/2014, the department launched a three year undergraduate programme of Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health; this programme is now moved to another School of Health and Medical Sciences.

The department also offers two graduate programmes, leading to graduates in Masters of Science in Chemistry and Masters of Science in Environmental Sciences.

Programmes offered:

  • Master of Science in Environmental Studies (MScES)
  • Master of Science in Climate Change and Natural Resources Management (MSc. CC & NRM)
  • MSc. Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Science with Education (B.Sc. Ed)
  • Diploma in Science with Education

Department future programmes:

  • PhD in Chemistry
  • PhD in Environmental Sciences

Available Research Equipment

  • UV-Visible Spectrophotometer